Nevada State Business License
File Nevada State Business License - Required
*What businesses are exceptions to or exempted from needing a State Business License?
Nevada nonprofit corporations formed under NRS Chapter 82 and Corporations Sole formed under NRS Chapter 84 are specific exceptions and are not required to obtain a State Business License.
In addition, specific statutory provisions exempt certain businesses from the requirements of the State Business License. These businesses must still initially submit the form, WITHOUT FEE stating the specific exemption. The Statutory exemptions are as follows:
• A governmental entity.
• (b) A nonprofit religious, charitable, fraternal or other organization that qualifies as a tax-exempt organization pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 501(c).
• (c) A person as defined in Title 7 of the Nevada Revised Statutes, who operates a business from his home and whose net earnings from that business are not more than 66 2/3 percent of the average annual wage, as computed for the preceding calendar year pursuant to NRS Chapter 612 and rounded to the nearest hundred dollars. The average annual wage generally fluctuates each year. 66 2/3% of the average annual wage for 2010 is $27,000.00.
• A natural person whose sole business is the rental of four or fewer dwelling units to others.
• A business whose primary purpose is to create or produce motion pictures. As used in this paragraph, “motion pictures” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 231.020.
• An insurance company licensed pursuant to NRS 680B.020 not conducting business not incidental to Title 57.